cooking methods

Food tips you can trust


The 4 principal
cooking methods
of Japanese cuisine

More so than any other cuisine, Japanese cuisine is best understood in perspective by knowing its four principal cooking methods:


These are fried foods. Famous dishes include Tempura, Kagiage (a batter-dipped, deep-fried patty of vegetables and shrimp), and Tonkatsu (a breaded, deep-fried pork cutlet).


Steamed foods: The celebrated dish is Chawan Mushi, an egg custard containing chicken and vegetables.


These foods are boiled. The best-known subcategory is Nabemono, one-pot tabletop cookery in which the ingredients are simmered in a lightly seasoned broth, then usually dipped into a flavorful sauce. Nabemono's best-known dishes are:

Sukiyaki Shabu Shabu

Beef, vegetables, and bean curd


Somewhat like Shabu Shabu, but with chicken instead of beef


Fish, shellfish, and vegetables


Uncomplicated bean curd preparation


Foods that are broiled. Some of the best-known dishes are Yakitori (marinated skewer-broiled chicken), Teriyaki (broiled meat or fish first marinated in a sweetened sake and soy-sauce mixture), Shioyaki (fish salted for an hour or two, then skewer-broiled), and Teppan Yaki (food cooked on a small tabletop grill).

Learn More

for my Japanese Cuisine into




Share this page


Top 10 World Cuisines

Peasant recipes

Great Peasant Dishes

World wonders

Top 100
Top 1000

Also read

Site map
About me and my credentials
About my website
Reader testimonials
Email me your opinion