10 amazing
Seven Wonders facts

page 2


Continued from previous page

Related functions

Two of the ancient Seven Wonders are royal tombs (Pyramid of Khufu and Mausoleum at Halicarnassus). Two involve Greek temples (Temple of Artemis and the Statue of Zeus, which was the focal point of the Temple of Zeus). Two relate to Mediterranean harbors (Colossus of Rhodes and Lighthouse of Alexandria). The Hanging Gardens of Babylon stand alone.

Practical public function

Only the Lighthouse of Alexandria served a practical public function. It guided mariners safely into the harbor.

Chronological list
of the Seven Wonders

All were built over a period spanning 23 centuries. Chronological list (dates specify century of creation):

1. Pyramids of Khufu
      26th century BC
2. Hanging Gardens of Babylon
      6th century BC
3. Temple of Artemis
      6th century BC
4. Statue of Zeus
      5th century BC
5. Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
      4th century BC
6. Colossus of Rhodes
      3rd century BC<
7. Lighthouse of Alexandria
      3rd century BC

Learn More

for the page 3
of my 10 Amazing Facts list

Learn my other
Seven Wonders tips & insights

Colossus of Rhodes
Hanging Gardens
Lighthouse of Alexandria
Mausoleum of Halicarnassus
Pyramid of Khufu
Statue of Zeus
Temple of Artemis

Pyramids of Egypt -1
Great Wall of China - 2
Taj Mahal -3
Serengeti Migration -4
Galapagos Islands -5
Grand Canyon -6
Machu Picchu -7

The 5 major ancient list flaws
10 amazing facts


Share this page

World's Top 100 Wonders
World's Top 1000 Wonders

Site map
My credentials
About my website and criteria
Reader testimonials